The Aldebaran – Chronicles of the Stars Pilgrim

Conundrum of Astronomy, particularly in South East Asia

Tempus Fugit, C’est La Vie & the Legacy

How many times do i have to say this, tempus fugit? But that is the fact, time flies, three weeks passed & we have reach the end. When everything has to be ended.

When there was a beginning, so must be one end on the other side. Three weeks passed just in snap one’s fingers, i wish i could write more, but so many memories to bear on my mind, many slipped out of my mind – pity me. Oh boy, maybe everything will be resided & crystalized on my heart instead of my mind, good time, bad time, every moment; but it is my nature to wrote down something, sorry if i can not write in detail of each passing moment, (hope you all will share the moment), nevertheless what will prevail is merely the food for thought, for astronomer? yes in particular; maybe for all humankind in general term (boooo) ..

So, here’s the catch ..

On the last time dinner in Langkawi; in Porto Malaya, i have an opportunity to give speech, one last time to express our gratitude to Michele Gerbaldi. To be honest, i am not that close to Michele, compared to my other fellows, nevertheless, i have to give so many many credits for her to give me this opportunity to join in ISYA. To have experiences astronomy from the giants (?) all around the world. That is the first reason & personal reason.

The second reason, maybe the thanks is not only me, but many many younger generation of astronomer around the world, Michele have dedicated her life for teaching & educating astronomers, for passing the knowledge of astronomy; this is not just rumor, at least i have seen it by myself. For instance, my sister Eliani Ardhy was a student in ISYA 1992 in Beijing, China; now she is working as lecturer in Japan, yet, she is still remember Michele until this moment. Michele has shape many of us to become what we are we now & what we will be, someday.

And the third reason, Michele is an inspiring personality, true .. don’t you know, Michele Gerbaldi became a role model for the Iranian women and put them at ease talking with foreigners (http://physics.open.ac.uk/IAU46/newsletter42a.html). Now, that is inspiring & i believe so.

Nevertheless, the class has to be ended. Like any other classes.

Ohh .. i am deeply sad by this parting, with every of us. On the very brief moment, Michele said to me “Yes, it does, but it happens on both side, nevertheless, life goes on, c’est la vie (that is life – france) … “. True, that is life, life goes on, parting is just one step, & we have to step forward. But we will move forward with something fruitful.

Sincerely, i, myself, very very thankful for the whole moment, the opportunity & what is most important, the legacy of astronomy. That is, maybe not because of the ISYA itself, or maybe ISYA is the catalyst; everyone will have their reason. But if you do work on the field of astronomy, from this moment on, we have to bear this legacy; the legacy of astronomy, to bring knowledge of astronomy for the future generation. The torch of knowledge of astronomy that had been passed from previous generation, now is within our embrace.

The objectives of science can be varied, but will share the common value, to give deeper understanding of nature & the life of human being in the middle of this vast universe.

Back to this giant with the question mark, i will quote this famous metaphor from Newton:

Pigmaei gigantum humeris impositi plusquam ipsi gigantes vident.

The dwarf on the shoulder of the giant sees farther than the giant itself.

I am not good on the philosophical mumbo jumbo, but what i have seen is, the future of astronomy now is in our hand. The giants have give us opportunity to see the universe. So, here we are .. should you walk on the path of astronomy? The universe is before you to explore ..

April 2, 2007 - Posted by | Astronomy

4 Komentar »

  1. Hoooiiii abis ISYA kok ndak nulis lageeehhhh….??? Mana lagi dong ceritanyaaaahhh…?

    Komentar oleh astronomsableng | Mei 9, 2007 | Balas

  2. hehehe .. maap .. banyak kegiatan belakangan ini, tapi itu udah nambah postingan baru, tentang Bosscha lagi , Bosscha lagi .. opini dunk, rada serius nih ..

    Komentar oleh nggieng | Mei 26, 2007 | Balas

  3. am linking to you . . .๐Ÿ™‚ It may look like I am making fun, but no – I am teasing in an affectionate way: the future of many things is in our hands! How will we collectively channel all the passions?

    Komentar oleh a Dark Ally | Juni 24, 2007 | Balas

  4. Hi Emanuel, I do know of Indonesia but only indirectly. I know one person from there, and I have several friends from India who were involved in relief efforts after the tsunami last year. I only guessed that you might be Chinese or Iranian because these two identities were named in your blog. ๐Ÿ™‚ I could not recognize the language that you and your commenter write in, is it Indonesian?

    I agree with the passion part of what you say, but am less sure of what you wrote about “knowledge . . . to pass on to others.” I always assume that what I know (or, what I think I know, smile) is the limitation that I must go beyond. I know I can do this most easily with people who share a similar desire.
    ๐Ÿ™‚

    Komentar oleh a Dark Ally | Juni 24, 2007 | Balas


Tinggalkan Balasan

